Hillcroft LRC

My first fortnight – learning about online resources

Posted on: November 14, 2014

My linoit board of tasks

My linoit board of tasks today

Hello all, I am Philippa and I joined the LRC team two weeks ago. I have just finished my Masters in Information and Library Studies so it’s wonderful to be able to see how everything I’ve learnt has real life applications. I have been busy learning the ropes and meeting everyone.

Here are some key online resources I have been becoming familiar with:

Dawsonera ebooks

Available through the MyAthens sign on page. This is great for accessing books 24/7 and you can’t lose them or spill coffee on them! We are keen to add more ebooks and get them used more by everyone. They can be a bit difficult to handle to start with, but it is possible to read online or you can download and/or print out useful segments (being respectful of copyright restrictions).

TIP: I found out for downloaded ebooks in Adobe Reader you can customise the colour settings of the paper background and text. This is under the options toolbar: Edit –> Preferences –> Accessibility then checking the box ‘Replace document colors’.

Referencing handbook

We held referencing induction sessions with the access courses. Getting all the right bits of bibliographic information in the right order can be frustrating but correct referencing is essential for academic integrity.

TIP: I write out the full reference when taking notes from a resource. The details don’t have to be in the right order straight away – although it helps. As long as you jot down the key fields like author, date and title then you can often revisit the resource by looking it up on the catalogue or on the internet later. The handbook produced by the University of Lincoln can help you when it comes to writing out the references in full. The handbook can be found on the VLE (under the blocks Library and Learning Resources –>  LRC Referencing and Plagiarism –> Text Assistance).

Linoit (memo board)

I was introduced to this virtual pinboard for memos and tasks (or anything you want!). I found it simple to post ‘stickies’ and to peel them off once they are done (in the right hand corner of the sticky).

TIP: I like changing the colour of the sticky memo and giving it a cute icon to make task management more appealing. You can read more about task management in Stella Cottrell’s book ‘Skills for Success’.

If you have any tips or good experiences using these resources please comment below or come and talk to me during the week. I would be delighted to hear from you either way!

Leave a Reply

